Flag of Tukangbesi Islands

Tukangbesi Islands

Also known as Tukang Besi Islands, Wakatobi Islands

An island group of Sulawesi Tenggara, Indonesia, Asia.

Tukanbesi Islands comprise four main islands and several small atolls and coral islands.

The main islands are Wangiwangi, Kaledupa, Tomia and Binongko. An abbreviation of these four names gives the area it's local name: Wakatobi.

Tukangbesi means iron makers in Bahasa Indonesia, and the archipelago is known for the kris (traditional knives) made here.

Nearby photos


Top 10 Dive Sites in Tukangbesi Islands

Create your free online log book now.  Easy, fast, waterproof!
dive site location